Fans of anthology horror have been very lucky in the past couple of years, as the subgenre’s has been resurrected amongst the independent scene with the prominence of two V/H/S films, Chillerama and The ABC’s of Death. Even better news for those fans is the announcement today that The ABC’s of Death will be taking V/H/S‘s lead, as the 26-chapter film will be getting a sequel thanks to original producers Ant Timpson, Tim League and distributor Magnet Releasing.

Also produced by Todd Brown, Marc Walkow, Ted Geoghegan and Mitch Davis, The ABC’s of Death sequel has already had a number of prolific names attached to the project, including: Rodney Ascher (Room 237), Kristina Buozyte & Bruno Samper (Vanishing Waves), Alexandre Bustillo & Julien Maury (Inside), Marcus Dunstan (The Collector), Larry Fessenden (Wendigo), Julian Gilbey (A Lonely Place to Die), Alex de la Iglesia (The Last Circus), Lancelot Imasuen (Games Men Play), E.L. Katz (Cheap Thrills), Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado (Rabies), Erik Matti (Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles), Robert Morgan (Bobby Yeah), Vincenzo Natali (Cube), Bill Plympton (The Tune), Dennison Ramalho (Ninjas), Jerome Sable (Stage Fright), Sion Sono (Suicide Club), and Diabolique favorites Jen & Sylvia Soska (American Mary).

With 6 spots remaining, 5 if you discard the to-be-announced contest winner as done for Lee Hardcastle last year, who would you like to see brought upon this project? Perhaps an old favorite, like Fred Dekker (The Monster Squad) or Don Coscarelli (Phantasm)? Maybe newer blood like Evan Glodell (Bellflower) or The Vicious Brothers (Grave Encounters)? How about a genre master, like John Carpenter (Halloween) or William Friedkin (The Exorcist)? What about a non-horror director, like Quentin Dupieux (Rubber) or Christopher Morris (Four Lions)? Not to mention any potential international addition, like the short-privy Park Chan-wook (Three…Extremes) or Lars Von Trier (Antichrist)?

The original ABC’s is scheduled for DVD/Blu-ray release from Magnet Releasing on Tuesday, May 21st, and features contributions from Adam Wingard (You’re Next), Timo Tjahjanto (V/H/S/2), Ben Wheatley (Kill List), Helene Cattet & Bruno Forzani (Amer), Ti West (The Innkeepers), Nacho Vigolondo (Timecrimes) and Xavier Gens (Frontiers).

Keep an opened eye at for more news on the sequel, and please feel free to chime in below or at our official Facebook ( or Twitter (@DiaboliqueMag)!

By Ken W. Hanley